Dec 222013

Frieda Bradlow Hosts VID Holiday PartyHostess Par Excellence, Frieda Bradlow,  Hosts VID Holiday Party…Again!

Grateful pols, VID members and friends vigorously bound up Frieda Bradlow’s steps on a very crisp December 15th to enter the by now celebrated West Village political parlor.  The conversation was, at times, animated, at others hushed; the food scrumptious; the drink just right.

The list of attendees?  Take note:  NYC Comptroller John Liu;  Borough President-Elect Gale Brewer; NYS Senator Brad Hoylman;  NYS Assemblymember Deborah Glick; NYS State Committee member and President of the NYS Democratic Committee Progressive Caucus, Rachel Lavine; District Leaders Keen Berger and Jean Grillo; past VID Presidents Jonathan Geballe, William Stricklin, and Katharine Wolpe; present VID President, Tony Hoffmann; Judges (and judges-elect) Frank Nervo, Kathryn Freed, Josh Hansshaft, Andrea Masley, Margaret Chan, Carol Sharpe, JJ Kelley, Dakota Ramseur, Anil Singh and Tania Kennedy; from the press Lincoln Anderson (The Villager) and photographer Tequila Minsky joined the festivities.  Even Robbie Kaplan,  famed for her successful victory before the US Supreme Court in the Edie Windsor case (overturning of DOMA) this year attended with son Jacob.

Enjoy the picture show.

Be Sociable, Share!
May 052012

To see all the pictures of our friends, click here

It was a great turn-out for our 55th Anniversary, with warm feelings all around.   Long-missed faces, like William Stricklin and Chad Marlow…and our honorees Norman Siegel, Friends In Deed and Gale Brewer were clearly wowed by the celebration.

Thanks to all who attended and who donated.  Some deserve special recognition for making this happen.  Our Gala Committee of Katharine Wolpe, Ellen Peterson-Lewis, Tom Conner and Sharon Woolums put in the long hours of planning, strategy and arranging. Extra help was provided by Deley Gazinelli, who set up the award placques. Eli Hausknecht monitored the ticket purchases and arranged the event check-in and revenue. Eli, this could not have happened without you.

Celia Wu also worked on the tickets and brought our prominently displayed VID banner to the event, and helped me set up Paypal on the VID website. Reinforcements for the phone tree included Nadine Hoffmann, Tony Hoffman, Keen Berger, Brad Hoylman, Frieda Bradlow, and Kathy Jacobson. And our top table team, taking tickets, was attended by Peter Crosta, Georgina Christ, Tim McNerney and Teresa Hommel.  Sharon handed out drink tix and Katharine Wolpe directed traffic. Tony Hoffman served as photographer. Our well-placed and elegantly presented Villager ad was designed by Yayoi Tsuchitani.

I want to say a special word about our outstanding District Leaders, Keen Berger and Brad Hoylman. Somehow during my opening remarks I lost a card and thus skipped over their leadership over the past year on the St Vincent’s matter and the park and the new middle school at 75 Morton, the opposition to NYU2031, and so many other issues. Brad and Keen exemplify the heart and soul of VID. Thank you both for turning our ideals and goals into realities.

It was honoring Annette Zaner and Yvonne Sherwell, who have been two of the pillars of VID that was the sweetest verse of this song. This was our moment to embrace you. Annette, Yvonne, it is far too little recognition for your many years of fierce and longstanding dedication to VID, but I know that it lifted us — all of us — and so I hope it lifted you as well.

Happy 55th Gala, VID.


Be Sociable, Share!
Sep 112010

General Meeting 9/22/2010, at Judson Memorial Church Assembly Hall, 239 Thompson St.(entrance just below Washington Square South), at 7:30 pm. Agenda:

1. Election of interim president to replace our current President, William Stricklin, who has accepted a job that makes it impossible for him to continue as president. Per our Constitution, VID must elect an interim president who will be in office until the annual election in December, 2010. Please be prepared to propose candidates and vote on this very importat position.

2. Discusion of proposed New York City Charter Revisions. Speakers tba.

3. Discussion and presentation of the VID resolution on the proposed Islamic Cultural Center, to be situated downtown on Park Place.

4. Sadye Vassil, the Manhattan Coordinator for One Nation, to make a brief presentation of their mission statement and the 10/2/2010 march in D.C. Presenation should be 5-7 minutes followed by a short question period.

Be Sociable, Share!
Jan 152010

2010 V.I.D. Roster of Officers and Exec Members:
V.I.D. election meeting on December 10, 2009 re-elected
William Stricklin – President
Jonathan Geballe – Vice Pres.
Lorne Gottesman – Vice Pres.
Tim McNerney – Vice Pres.
On January 14, 2010 the following V.I.D. officers were re-elected:
Kathy Jacobson – Treasurer
Celia Wu – Recording Secretary
Annette Zaner – Corresponding Secretary

The following were elected to the V.I.D. Exec Committee:
Frieda Bradlow
Yvonne Sherwell
John Bredin
Teresa Hommel
Ellen Peterson-Lewis
Sharon Woolums
Harold Stelter
Eli Hausknecht
Cormac Flynn
Mary Ann Carlese
Jim Fouratt
Georgina Christ
Connie Ress
Patrick Mahon
Katherine Wolpe

Be Sociable, Share!