May 042014

NYS Candidates ForumOn May 1st VID and eight other Clubs sponsored a NYS candidates forum for Democrats seeking inclusion on the 2014 Primary Ballot.

Here are the Minutes of the Forum

Ed Yutkowitz, VID  Corresponding Secretary organized the event which included:

Keith Wright, Chairman of the New York County Democrats, Assembly Member, and a Co-Chair of the New York State Democratic Party, who will speak on behalf of Governor Andrew Cuomo. 

Randy Credico, Candidate for NYS Governor
First Deputy Comptroller of the State of New York, Pete Grannis, representing Comptroller Tom DiNapoli
Brad Hoylman, New York State Senator for the 27th District.
Deborah Glick, Assembly Member for the 66th district, who will also represent Attorney General Eric Schneiderman.
Dan Squadron, New York State Senator for the 26th District.
Rachel Lavine, 66th AD; Alan Shulkin, 66th AD and John Quinn, 65th AD Candidates for New York State Democratic Committee.

Co-sponsors of the event included Downtown Independent Democrats, Downtown Progressive Democrats, Jim Owles Liberal Democratic Club, Lower Manhattan Democrats, Village Reform Democratic Club, Greater NYC for Change, Gay and Lesbian Independent Democrats, and 

Among the prominent topics raised by the Forum attendees were campaign finance reform, the recent legislation regarding development rights through the Hudson River Park Trust , Fracking and the NYS Senate’s Independent Democrat Conference (IDC).

Rachel Lavine, State Democratic Committee member and founder of the NYS Progressive Caucus introduced a resolution by that body detailing the failures of  Independent Democratic Conference of the New York State Senate (IDC) in advancing important Democratic legislation and calling upon the  IDC  to rejoin the Democratic Conference led by Senate Minority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins.  The topic  was immediately picked up by the NY Daily News and by Capital NY

All the candidates agreed that Campaign Finance Reform was a priority with Senator Hoylman speaking out vehemently for its need.  Assemblymember Glick offered a detailed chronology of the imperfect Hudson River Park legislation and  hopefully mitigating provision for full local  ULURP review for future development that remained in the final package.

Senator Dan Squadron added a plea for support of his pending legislation for collaborative funding for NYC Parks between the City and the various Park Conservancies to advance their more equitable care.

Minutes will be posted soon.  Here are the pictures,

Be Sociable, Share!
Jun 132010

At the V.I.D. General Membership meeting on June 20th, New York State Senator, Eric Schneiderman, was chosen to be the V.I.D. candidate for Attorney General, after Elizabeth Holtzman withdrew her name from the A.G. race. Petition period for the September Primaries have started. Please call V.I.D. for hours to pick up petitions at 212-741-2994.

Be Sociable, Share!
Jun 022010

Thursday, June 10th, 7:30 pm at LGBT on West 13th St.( btw 7th and 8th Aves.), room 212. Preliminary agenda items are:
1. New Endorsement for NYS Attorney General (note: Elizabeth Holtzman is not a candidate for NYS Attorney General. The club needs to consider making another endorsement.)
Candidates are:
Richard L. Brodsky
Sean Coffey
Eric R. Dinallo
Kathleen M. Rice
Eric T. Schneiderman
2. Consideration and discussion of endorsing a candidate in New York’s 15th Congressional District. The seat presently held by Charles R. Rangel. He will be facing at least three possible Democratic challengers in the Primary: Vincent Morgan, Adam Clayton Powell IV, and Jonathan Tasini.
3. Consideration and general discussion of endorsing candidates outside the geographic area of Assembly District covered by the Village Independent Democrats.
4. Old business.
5. New business.

Be Sociable, Share!
May 182010

The V.I.D. endorsed the following 2010 candidates:
New York State Governor – Andrew Cuomo
New York State Lt. Governor – No Endorsement
New York State Comptroller – Thomas DiNapoli
New York State Attorney General – Liz Holtzman
(run-off vote with Eric Schneiderman)
Female State Democratic Committee – Rachel Lavine
Male State Democratic Committee – Arthur Schwartz
U.S. Senate – Kirsten Gillibrand
U.S. Senate – Charles Schumer
U. S. House 4th Dist. – Carolyn Maloney
U. S. House 8th Dist. – Jerrold Nadler
N.Y.S. Assembly – Deborah Glick
N.Y.S. Senate – Thomas Duane

Be Sociable, Share!